Gallery

Photo-diary of a market (and some self-indulgent doggie snaps)

There’s nothing like a good market. As an enthusiastic food fan, I really enjoy a great eateries market – though my chronic indecision when faced with so much deliciousness drives my loved ones a little crazy. I popped into the charming and quiet 1 Fox weekly market with friends, my camera and an empty stomach this past weekend and got some lovely snaps of the place.

What can I say, I'm a sucker for puns.
What can I say, I’m a sucker for puns.

Awesome store outside selling beautiful locally made clothes, sunglasses and camera straps
Awesome store outside selling beautiful locally made clothes, sunglasses and camera straps
The entrance is a tad intimidating...
The entrance is a tad intimidating…
Nothing like a delicious coffee to end off the feat.
Nothing like a delicious coffee to end off the feat.
I'm a chocolate zombie. BRAAAAAAAAAAINS!
I’m a chocolate zombie. BRAAAAAAAAAAINS!
Two little boys playing outside with their parents near by.
Two little boys playing outside with their parents near by.
The crowd loves the live music, the musicians have a whole ensemble of cell phone videographers capturing every moment.
The crowd loves the live music, the musicians have a whole ensemble of cell phone videographers capturing every moment.
Some pretty sweet jazz being played.
Some pretty sweet jazz being played.
A chorizo being toasted in an open flame
A chorizo being toasted in an open flame
Look out for this store - awesomeness awaits.
Look out for this store – awesomeness awaits.
Gluten free wallets. Yum.
Gluten free wallets. Yum.
Teeeeny tiiiiiiiny shwe-shew baby shoes. The cutest!
Teeeeny tiiiiiiiny shwe-shew baby shoes. The cutest!
Some lovely stalls selling things like takkies with a very South African flavour.
Some lovely stalls selling things like takkies with a very South African flavour.
Carina in the foreground, market in the back
Carina in the foreground, market in the back
A delicious blueberry, mint and gin bubble tea cocktail. You go happy me!
A delicious blueberry, mint and gin bubble tea cocktail. You go happy me!
A delicious blueberry, mint and gin bubble tea cocktail.
A delicious blueberry, mint and gin bubble tea cocktail.
Me with my calamari!
Me with my calamari!
Alan and Marianna, living in SA from the USA and Venezuela respectably, eating a South African attempt at nachos.
Alan and Marianna, living in SA from the USA and Venezuela respectably, eating a South African attempt at nachos.
El Boyfriendo sweetly posing for me with the best hamburger in the world
El Boyfriendo sweetly posing for me with the best hamburger in the world
Poor Carina being coerced into a photograph was eating a truly delicious wrap
Poor Carina being coerced into a photograph was eating a truly delicious wrap
I got the calamari and sadly wasn't quite as good as I was expecting
I got the calamari and sadly wasn’t quite as good as I was expecting
Some dim sum waiting to be steamed
Some dim sum waiting to be steamed
Divine dim sum at the market - these 'pears' were stuffed with a curried chicken and I could a HUNDRED of them.
Divine dim sum at the market – these ‘pears’ were stuffed with a curried chicken and I could a HUNDRED of them.
El Boyfriendo enjoying the market place
El Boyfriendo enjoying the market place
My friend Carina waiting for her deeeelicious wrap
My friend Carina waiting for her deeeelicious wrap
A bit of decoration at the Mexican table
A bit of decoration at the Mexican table
Tons of fresh beers and my favourite, an alcoholic ginger beer, all on sale
Tons of fresh beers and my favourite, an alcoholic ginger beer, all on sale
Like mother, like daughter
Like mother, like daughter
My favourite local bubble tea emporium, happy me, paired with the bar to make deliciously naughty boozy bubble teas.
My favourite local bubble tea emporium, happy me, paired with the bar to make deliciously naughty boozy bubble teas.
Can't help laughing at this... in the ULTIMATE hipster marketplace.
Can’t help laughing at this… in the ULTIMATE hipster marketplace.
Delicious. My boyfriend INHALED his.
Delicious. My boyfriend INHALED his.
Meaty sweetness is a big foodie trend at the moment and though I could never get on board with bacon chocolate (too meaty) I really LOVED this biltong jam - very South African, and sweet in a savoury way, much like onion marmalade. Look up 'Jamable' for this treat.
Meaty sweetness is a big foodie trend at the moment and though I could never get on board with bacon chocolate (too meaty) I really LOVED this biltong jam – very South African, and sweet in a savoury way, much like onion marmalade. Look up ‘Jamable’ for this treat.
basil
Fresh basil, spinach and other veggies grow outside the market

And, as promised, some doggie snaps (I love these pooches!)

Sophie the greyhound poses very well between sprints
Sophie the greyhound poses very well between sprints
Sophie the greyhound also loves lying down a LOT
Sophie the greyhound also loves lying down a LOT
Little Wookie, a maltese spaniel cross, grumpily wet after his bath
Little Wookie, a maltese spaniel cross, grumpily wet after his bath
Little Wookie, a maltese spaniel cross, grumpily wet after his bath
Little Wookie, a maltese spaniel cross, grumpily wet after his bath
Little Wookie, a maltese spaniel cross, grumpily wet after his bath
Little Wookie, a maltese spaniel cross, grumpily wet after his bath
Sophie the greyhound doing a derp face
Sophie the greyhound doing a derp face
One thought on “Photo-diary of a market (and some self-indulgent doggie snaps)

Leave a Reply

