I am not a Sweet Blonde Thing (or 15 Examples of Everyday Sexism)

I am not a Sweet Blonde Thing (or 15 Examples of Everyday Sexism)

Don’t call me ‘dear’ when I’m taking out insurance.

Don’t call a firm email ‘nasty’.

Don’t tell me I’m angry because I’m on my period.

Don’t call me ‘darling’.

Don’t tell me to ‘think like a man’.

Don’t try to sell me a car based on its colour (‘I know this isn’t the mileage you wanted but it’s in the colour you liked.’).

Don’t try to mislead me because you thought I wouldn’t understand.

Don’t tell me ‘men are simple creatures’.

Don’t assume I’m a pushover because I smile at you.

Don’t take generosity of spirit as a sign of weakness.

Don’t try to control my emotions.

Don’t tell me that that bad parallel parking ‘must have been a woman’.

Don’t judge me as less when I look plain.

Don’t tell me ‘women are so competitive and don’t support each other’ (and men in business are all holding hands?).

Don’t tell me my bad mood is because I’m being ‘too sensitive’.

Just don’t.

One thought on “I am not a Sweet Blonde Thing (or 15 Examples of Everyday Sexism)

Leave a Reply

