Link

You’ll never be as thin as your mother | Women24 column

My latest column  looks at research proving that people in the 80s were 10% thinner than they are now – as in, a 25 year old today will have to work a heck of a lot harder to be skinny (thank god for diet apps though!).

Which brings me to my awesome mom, who was my age in the 80s! She’s all kinds of fabulous… see below.

Just beautiful <3
Just beautiful ❤
Wedding day. Loving that hair!
Wedding day. Loving that hair! Here is my mom is 29, same as me!
Me and my mom. I'll also never weigh as much as I did in the 80s!
Me and my mom. I’ll also never weigh as much as I did in the 80s!
Languid in white. My mum being fab in her early 20s.
Languid in white. My mum being fab in her early 20s.
How glam is my mother? Look at that hurr!
How glam is my mother? Look at that hurr!

In light of the university fee riots #feesmustfall happening across the country, it does feel in some ways like we have a small window back into the 80s, and worrying about weight seems so silly in light of these larger, societal issues. Nonetheless, body confidence issues are real too and also feed into society’s expectations and, as you’ll see in this piece, the frame work and control dynamic we are born into.

But this piece is not so serious. Here’s a humourous look at how weight has changed in the past 20 years and how some elements of weight gain are out of our control.

me and my mom
Me and my mom
One thought on “You’ll never be as thin as your mother | Women24 column

Leave a Reply

