I’m a (big, fat) hypocrite

I’m a (big, fat) hypocrite

I’ve complained about banting many times. Many, many times. But here I am, 3pm on a Wednesday, drinking coffee with fat golden globules floating like drops of sunshine on its surface.

There’s no way around it. I have to admit it. Like the weak willed jellyfish I am, I’ve become a banting sheep. I’ve eaten so much coconut over the past two weeks I’m like a human pina colada.

And the worst thing of all? I’M ENJOYING IT.

I’m sure you feel caught off guard, on the back foot, BETRAYED.

enhanced-28868-1452266314-1.png

But it’s the truth. No matter how much I love myself I still want to look smokin’ at my wedding and the thought of the ‘off the cuff’ wedding photos looking like crap has installed a deep, dark, Old Testament fear in me.

Like my engagement photos.

I had * casually brushes lint off sleeve, adjusts sunglasses * a SUPER romantic engagement, and I love every moment of the memory of that night. But looking back at those photos… does not fill me with joy.

 

cactuspincushion_runnybabbitae
A friend described this as ‘authentic’ and then ran out of words.

 

I don’t think I look like THAT. Normally, I think I look like THIS:

20160116_184446
That same night – long before I knew he was proposing.

But those ‘in the moment’ photos are so horrendous it installed the fear of god in me. I did my same old dieting thing this year and lost some weight, but it was so achingly slow and my banting friends were looking so incredible I decided it was time to cave.

And into a cave of butter, cream, carb measurements, evangelical banting Facebook groups, heated debates about peas, and coconut oil I fell.

74891d4f6f30daa44f27dc662bb92cea

So yes. I’m banting.

diet-marriage-dress-wedding-ecards-someecards

And so is my fiance. The high fat, deliciously creamy food feels like a treat but I’ll admit, it was hard to stick to this weekend when a two of my bridesmaids were visiting from Cape Town. After a rough day at work my old habit of wanting to comfort eat kicked in and I sadly decided a block or two of dark chocolate wouldn’t be the WORST thing in the world. Rubbing your tears with dark chocolate isn’t nearly as satisfying as doing it with a bag of chips.

 

But the worst thing about banting? I can’t stop talking about it.

coconut-oil-quote

 

One thought on “I’m a (big, fat) hypocrite

Leave a Reply

